Ritornell – Aquarium Eyes | Karaoke Kalk 71




Aquarium Eyes


LP Includes A Free Download Voucher For The CD Album Plus One Extra Track


Karaoke Kalk 71

Release Date:


*Pressed On Blue Vinyl

**All orders include an instant download of the album

 10,90 16,90


»Aquarium Eyes« is the second album by the Austrian duo, Ritornell. Their debut, »Golden Solitude«, was released in 2009 on Karaoke Kalk.

Acoustic and electronic sounds merge on»Aquarium Eyes«. Paying great attention to detail, Ritornell recorded at various locations (the studio of Patrick Pulsinger being one of them). The results are gently woven into their very own world of sound. Defamiliarized by subtle electronic manipulation, instruments such as piano, double bass, vibraphone, kalimba, and accordion develop a surprising life of their own, only to be consequently swallowed up by the hissing and buzzing of electronic devices.
Gleaming multi-layered electro-acoustic drones, isolated organic sounds, and sophisticated textures complete the intricate arrangements.

On »Aquarium Eyes«, Ritornell tackle the art of songwriting for the first time: Vienna based vocalist Mimu sings, whispers, and sighs golden threads through some of the fragile sound structures that Gerold and Eigner assembled with intuition. The duo also collaborated with vocal artist Didi Bruckmayer on the track »Tremble«.

»Music Box« is a conceptual piece: Under the direction of Richard Eigner, 20 people simultaneously turn the levers of their music boxes: Melodies of musical history blend into a sparkling confusion of sound.

With their interpretation of »In Every Dream Home A Heartache«, Ritornell finally present their very own version of a Roxy Music song, albeit with a twist: the guitars from the original have been replaced by a string trio.

During live performances, Richard Eigner and Roman Gerold present their music together with Mimu and Gerhard Daurer, occasionally supported by Bernd Klug on double bass and Meaghan Burke on cello.


01. The Morning Factory 02. Urban Heartware 03. In Every Dream Home A Heartache 04. Aquarium Eyes 05. Cherry Blossom 06. Ono 07. I've Stolen The Moon 08. Tremble 09. Urban Heartware Reprise 10. As We Swim Against The Tide 11. Musicbox


A1The Morning Factory A2 Urban Heartware A3 In Every Dream Home A Heartache A4 Aquarium Eyes B1 Cherry Blossom B2 Ono B3 I've Stolen The Moon B4 As We Swim Against The Tide Digital Bonus Track: Simone